
               
                

      
       

  
  

 

  
  

 
 

  

   

   
 

 
   

 

  
   

   
 

    

   
 

   
   

  

  
  

      
 

 

 
 

  
   

 
 

 
  

 

    

  

 

 
 

     

   
 

   
  
  

 
 

 
  

 

    

  
  

 

     

The following table details the current allowable state and territory fees and charges deviations (exceptions) from fees 
normally considered unallowable. Please contact your Regional Loan Center with any questions you may have. 
Current as of August 16, 2016. 

States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 
AL Closing 

Protection Letter 
$50.00 

Redemption Bond is 
NOT allowed 

Wood destroying insect 
(pest) inspection fee may 
be paid by Veterans 

AK Alaska Housing 
Delegation and 
Commitment 
Fee: .5% of loan 
amount 

Documented tax on 
services, to include 
services provided by 
appraiser 

AR Copies of 
Restrictions 

UCC Search Close-up 
Fee: Brings Abstract 
Up To Date 

$25 Closing 
Protection Letter 

Tax Report Final Closeout: Final 
Recording Search After 
Closing 

AR Real Estate Wood destroying 
Continued Transfer Tax of 

$3.30 Per 
Thousand 

insect (pest) 
inspection fee may be 
paid by Veterans 

AZ Wood 
destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee 
may be paid by 
Veterans 

CA Interest accrual 
can begin from 
the 1st business 
day preceding 
the settlement/ 
disbursement 
date 

Wood destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee may be 
paid by Veterans 

CT Interthinx 
DISSCO Fraud 
Report: $25 



       
  

 
 

  
 

    

  
  

 
 

  
 

    

  
 

  
 

     

  
 

   
 

 
 

     

   
 

  
 
  
  

  
 

  
  

  
  

 

    

   
   

  
 

  
  

  

  
  

 
  

 

 
   

  

  

   
 

  

 
 

  
 

   

States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 
DE Closing 

Protection 
Letter: $75 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25 

FL Closing 
Protection Letter 
$50.00 

Wood destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee may be 
paid by Veterans 

GA Georgia 
Residential 
Mortgage Fee: 
$10 

HI Homeowner's 
Association 
Transfer Fee for 
Condominium 
Property Regime 
Loans 

IA Title Insurance 
Premium under 
Iowa Title 
Guaranty 
Program: $110 
purchase loans, 
$90 refinancing 
loans 

Processing Costs for 
Participation in Iowa 
Mortgage Credit 
Certificate Program: 
$200 

IL Title Insurance 
Policy Fee: $3.00 

Processing Costs for 
Participation in 
Illinois Mortgage 
Credit Certificate 
Program: $500 

Closing/ Settlement 
Fee: $175 

Attorney Fee: no 
limit 

Closing Protection 
Letter is required 
by law 

IN Title Insurance 
Enforcement 
Fund: $5 

Closing Protection 
Letter: $35 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25 

Attorney Fee:
No Limit



 
       

         

 

 
 

 
           

    
   

   
  

  
  

 
 

 
  

  
  

  
   

 
 

  
  

  
    

 

   
 

 

  
 

  
 

   

  
  

 

     

  
  

 

     

States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 
LA Effective March 

6, 2014, VA will 
allow Veterans 
to pay the 
actual cost of 
valid title 
charges on 
HUD lines 

Recording 
Release Fee on 
Refi’s 

Orleans Parish 
Document fee on 
Refi’s 

Flood Elevation 
Fee 

Wood 
destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee 
may be paid by 
Veterans 

1101-1107 
(normal 
unallowable 
fees apply 
toward the 1% 
fee threshold). 
Previously, LA 
limited the total 
title and 
insurance 
charges on 
HUD lines 
1101-1107 to 
1% of the loan 
amount. 

MA Municipal Lien Interthinx DISSCO Attorney Fee: No 
Certifications: Fraud Report: $25 Limit 
$250 

ME Interthinx 
DISSCO Fraud 
Report: $25 

MI Interthinx 
DISSCO Fraud 
Report: $25 



 
       

  
  

 

  
   
  

   
  

  
   

   

    

   
 
 

 
 

 
 

    

   
  

     

   
 

  
 

  
 

   

   
  

   
  

 

  
 

 
 

  
 

 
  

 

   

   
 

  
 

    

 
 

  
 

     

   
 

  
 

    

States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 
MN Conservation Fee 

in "Metropolitan" 
Counties: $10.00 

MN-%150k tax 
exclusion for Vets 
with serv. Conn. 
Disab. Of 70+%, 
and a $300k 
exclusion if you 
are 100% and 

MS Closing Protection 
Letter 
$50.00 

Wood destroying 
insect (pest) inspection 
fee may be paid by 
Veterans 

NH Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25 

NJ Closing Protection 
Letter: $75 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25 

Attorney Fee: No 
Limit 

NY CEMA Fee: 
Amount varies, 
but must be 
designated on 
HUD-1 

Title Insurance 
Endorsement: $50 

Equalization Charge: 
$125 

253 Affidavit: 
$100 

Interthinx 
DISSCO Fraud 
Report: $25 

Attorney Fee: No Limit 

OH Closing Protection 
Letter: $40 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25 

OK Wood destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee may 
be paid by Veterans 

PA Closing Protection 
Letter: $125 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25 



 
       

  
 

 
   

  
 

  
 

  
  
 

  
 
 

   
   
    
   

 

   
   

  
   

 

   
   

  
  

   
   
 

   
  

  
   

  
  

   
   
   

   
   

  
 

  
 

  
  

 
 

 
  

  
  

 
 

     
      

 

  
 

 

  
  

   
  

  
  
  

  
 

 

 
  

 

    

   
 

 

  
 

    

States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 
PR (Puerto 
Rico) 

Mortgage 
Release Fee for 
Refinances: 1% 
of Loan Amount 
per Release 

Duplicate of 
Notary Fees for 
cancellations 
(exception #5) 

*** Notaries in 
PR are attorneys, 
so you may see 
the fee listed as 
either. 

Notary fees for 
authorization of an 
instrument that 
does not exceed 
$10,000: $150 

Notary fees for 
authorization of an 
instrument that 
exceeds $10,000 but 
does not exceed 
$5,000,000: 1% of 
loan amount 

Notary fee when 
one party 
executes more 
than one public 
instrument in the 
same transaction 
before the same 
Notary: Sum of 
notarial fees shall 
not exceed 1% of 
the loan amount 
of higher value 
( existing newly 
built and 
refinancing loans) 

Notary fees 
for mortgage 
cancellations 
on 
refinancing: 
1% of loan 
amount (face 
value, not 
current 
balance) 

0.5% or $250 – whichever 
is greater – for federal loan 
programs. 

PR (Puerto Mileage for Wood destroying 
Rico) appraisers @ insect (pest) 
Continued $0.45 per mile 

located over 15 
miles from the 
appraiser’s place 
of business (for 
appraisals and 
repair 
inspections). 

inspection fee may be 
paid by Veterans 

RI Municipal Lien 
Certifications: 
$250 

Interthinx DISSCO 
Fraud Report: $25 



 
       

  
 

   
    
   

  
   

   
 

     

  
  

  
 

 
   

 

 
   

  

  
 

  
 

  

  
  

 
 

   
 

 
 

  
  

  
  

  
   

    
  

 

 

 

 
 

 

   
    

 

     

 
 

 

 
 

     

  
  

 

     

States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 
SD South Dakota-

Appraisers 
charge either 4% 
or 6% state tax 
on appraisals and 
inspections. We 
allow 4%, 6%, 
and 0% to be 
charged. 

TX Participation Fee 
on Texas 
Veterans Housing 
Assistance 
Program (VHAP) 
Loans: 1% of loan 
amount 

Housing Quality 
Standards Fee on 
VHAP Loans: $75 

Attorney Fee 
(Refinances): $100 

Title Policy 
Recoupment 
Fee Charge 

$25 Escrow 
Fee on 
Refinance 
Loans 

Title Policy Guaranty 
Fee 

TX Tax Certificates: Elevation Certificate Tax deletion fee Environmental Wood 
Continued $4 Per Taxing 

Authority on 
Refi Loans 

for Flood Insurance Protection Lien 
Endorsement 

destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee 
may be paid by 
Veterans 

VA Title Examination 
Fee: 1% of Loan 
amount 

U.S. Virgin 
Islands 

Wood 
destroying 
insect (pest) 
inspection fee 
may be paid by 
Veterans 

VT Interthinx 
DISSCO Fraud 
Report: $25 



 
       

   
    

 

     

 

States Exception1 Exception2 Exception3 Exception4 Exception5 Exception6 
WV Title Examination 

Fee: 1% of loan 
amount 




